Eight Limb Yoga Pose

Eight Limb Yoga Pose is a backbend pose that targets the throat and spine and is ideal for yogis and yoginis at a beginner to intermediate level.

anahata – the heart chakra
visuddha – the throat chakra
related poses
How To Do Eight Limb Yoga Pose
  1. Begin in the Four-Limbed Staff Pose (Chaturanga Dandasana). From here, exhale and lower your chest and knees to the mat, keeping your hands and feet stationary. Your legs should still be together, elbows tucked in at your sides. As you lower your knees, lift up through the tailbone to create space between the floor and your pelvic area./li>
  2. Stretching your head forward at the throat, reach your chin forward and place it on the mat. Gaze at a spot on the floor a few inches in front of you. Your spine should be gently curved; this isn’t a deep backbend, so don’t force the depth of the curve, which may cause lower back strain./li>
  3. While 8 parts of your body are touching the floor, be sure to not relax your muscles. Keep your legs active, pushing into the floor with your toes. Pushing into the floor through your hands will keep your shoulders active in this position as well, relieving some of the weight from your chest. Keep your shoulders drawn in toward the spine./li>
  4. Hold this position for 30-60 seconds, increasing to 3-5 minutes if you’re comfortable.
  • Breathe deeply through each step.
  • This pose is called the Eight Limb Pose because your chest, chin, both knees, both hands and both feet should all be touching the floor. While it may be inevitable for your stomach to touch the floor, try your best to keep these 8 parts the only ones in contact with the ground.
  • Avoid this position if you have wrist, elbow, shoulder, back, neck or knee injury.
  • If the backbend is too deep, this position can strain or increase pain in the lower back. If you suffer from sciatica or chronic back pain, check with a trainer before you attempt this position or avoid it altogether.

Coming into this pose from the Four-Limbed Staff pose provides a more focused, deeper stretch, but entering the Eight Limb Pose in this manner can make the pose more difficult. If your upper arms don’t have the strength to enter the Four-Limbed Staff pose properly, try entering from the Staff Pose, or Downward Facing Staff Pose (Adho Mukha Dandasana), instead.

Stretches & Strengthens

All Muscles: Throat, neck, shoulders, spine

Target Muscles: Throat, spine

Health Benefits of Fire Log Yoga Pose
  • Creates upper body strength.
  • Can lengthen and help realign the spine.
  • Can relieve mild backache.

Sanskrit Name & Meaning

Sanskrit Name & Meaning



astagga: eight parts, consisting of eight parts or members
asana: posture

History & Mythology

History & Mythology

There’s gotta be some history or mythology on this pose! We’ve looked high and low and have only come up with this message. Perhaps you have some information or resource for us to explore?